Kazakhstan is situated in the center of the Eurasian continent. The area of Kazakhstan is 2 million 724.9 thousand square kilometers, the country is on the ninth place in terms of the area of ​​the territory among other countries of the world. In the north and west, the republic borders Russia - 7,591 km (the longest continuous land border in the world), in the east China - 1,783 km, in the south Kyrgyzstan - 1,242 km, Uzbekistan - 2,351 km and Turkmenistan - 426 km. In addition, the republic is washed by inland seas - Caspian and Aral. Kazakhstan is the largest land-locked country in the world, which has no direct access to the World Ocean.

The idea of creating a new capital of Kazakhstan belongs to President Nursultan Nazarbayev.

The decision to move the capital from Almaty to Akmola was made by the Supreme Council of the Republic of Kazakhstan on July 6, 1994. The official transfer of the capital took place on December 10, 1997. By the presidential decree of May 6, 1998 Akmola was renamed to Astana. The international presentation of the new capital was held on June 10, 1998. In 1999, by the decision of UNESCO, Astana received the title of "city of peace". Since 2000, the main city of Kazakhstan is a member of the International Assembly of Capitals and Major Cities.

Astana is a modern metropolis where everyone can fill their leisure time with interesting events. To the guests of the capital city will be remembered by architecture, museums and cultural and sporting events. Sightseeing of Astana traditionally begins with a visit to Baiterek. More information and a calendar of events can be found here:

  1. Welcome to Astana
  2. The Department of Culture and Sports of Astana city
  3. Mayor’s Office of Astana